

May 13, 2022

For Immediate Release

Contact: Thalea Longhurst, state director of Career and Technical Education 801-538-7889 · <u>thalea.longhurst@schools.utah.gov</u>

> Kristina Yamada, education specialist 801-538-7849 · <u>kristina.yamada@schools.utah.gov</u>

Utah Young Technology Scholar Award Winners Announced

SALT LAKE CITY – The Utah State Board of Education and Micro Focus today announced the 2022 winners of the Young Technology Scholar Award. The award recognizes talented high school students who demonstrate impressive technological skills and well-rounded character. For more than two decades, the Young Technology Scholar Award has been given to students from schools across Utah and helped fund scholarships to further their education in pursuing a technology related degree. This year, eight students were awarded a total of \$18,000.

To be considered for the Young Technology Scholars Award, recipients had to be highly involved in technology-related courses at their high school. The application process required students to submit an application, a résumé, two letters of recommendation, a transcript, an industry certification as well as answer two essay questions. One winning application stated, "Industry certifications have given me goals to work towards and taught me how I learn best." Another stated "Technology is ever expanding, which is why it is important that I can showcase my skill in the practice."

Scholarship Awardees:

James Cox – Jordan School District James Davies – Jordan School District Corinna Healey – Ogden School District Jake Holcombe – Jordan School District

Peter Martin – Vanguard Academy Alan Mo – Granite School District Spencer Smart – Alpine School District Jared Young – Alpine School District

www.schools.utah.gov